The Chapter directs and oversees the administration of the affairs of St Edmundsbury Cathedral. It is the ‘governing body’ of the Cathedral and consists of eleven people, both clergy and laity, chaired by the Dean. It orders the worship and mission of the Cathedral, formulates policy, manages property, oversees finance, and generally ensures that the Cathedral’s Constitution and Statutes are maintained and reviewed.


The Dean (The Very Reverend Joe Hawes) as the leading priest has oversight of the spiritual and administrative life of the Cathedral Community. The Dean is a senior member of the clergy of the Diocese and so represents the Cathedral in its role as Mother Church of the Diocese.


The Residentiary Canons work closely with the Dean in leading worship in the Cathedral and in each of their areas of responsibility. They are:


The Precentor (The Reverend Canon Philip Banks) has responsibility for worship, music and the arts, organising both regular services and the wide range of special services that take place in the Cathedral. He also oversees the Fabric of the Cathedral.


The Canon Pastor (The Reverend Canon Matthew Vernon) has responsibility for pastoral care in the Cathedral community and oversees the Ministry of Welcome to visitors. The Canon Pastor coordinates baptisms, weddings funerals, home communions, hospital visits and other pastoral encounters. Canon Vernon is also the Sub Dean.


The Archdeacon for Rural Mission (The Venerable Sally Gaze).


Lay Members of Chapter are: Elizabeth Steele (Cathedral Warden), Stewart Alderman (Cathedral Warden), Tim Allen (appointed by The Bishop), Barbara Pycraft (elected by Annual Parochial Church Meeting).


To see a copy of the Cathedral’s Accounts for 2013 click here

To see a copy of the Cathedral’s Accounts for 2014 click here

To see a copy of the Cathedral’s Accounts for 2015 click here

To see a copy of the Cathedral’s Accounts for 2016 click here

To see a copy of the Cathedral’s Annual Report and Accounts for 2017 click here